Year: 2017

The Christmas lecture 2017 of the Physics department "Schrödinger's cat - a journey into quantum physics" is now online available at the video portal of FAU. Here, also the Christmas lectures of the past two years and very first Christmas lecture from 2001 can be viewed

Physicists at the Friedrich Alexander University Erlangen-Nürnberg (FAU), the University of Hamburg and the research facility DESY have succeeded for the first time in revealing tiny structures using an imaging method that relies on the usual diffraction of light, but which does not require the scattered light to be coherent. With conventional imaging methods using the diffraction of coherent light, scientists have to go to considerable lengths to ensure the coherence of the radiation, i.e. the electromagnetic waves must remain in phase during the scattering process. The new method uses incoherent light instead.

Assembling electronic building blocks from single molecules is a main objective in nanotechnology. An interdisciplinary research group at Friedrich-Alexander-Universität Erlangen-Nürnberg (FAU) has made a major step towards this goal. The groups of Prof. Dr. Sabine Maier, Prof. Dr. Milan Kivala und Prof. Dr. Andreas Görling have suceeded in assembling and investigating wires and networks from newly developed single molecules as building blocks. These could form the basis for future opto-electronic devices like flexible screens or sensors. Their work has been published in „Nature Communications“.

Jedes Jahr trifft sich auf den Frühjahrstagungen der Deutschen Physikalischen Gesellschaft (DPG) die Welt der Physik, um Ideen auszutauschen und über neueste Erkenntnisse der Physik zu debattieren. Vom 8. bis 10. September 2017 können interessierte Schülerinnen und Schüler

The Autumn Academy is intended to introduce BSc and MSc students to the fast moving field of optical science including topics such as quantum information processing, metamaterials, nano-optics, photonic crystal fibres, nonlinear optics, imaging and sensing.

Teilnehmerin des Erlanger Schülerforschungszentrums in der deutschen Nationalauswahl für den International Young Physicists' Tournament (IYPT) in Singapur im Juli 2017.