Department of Physics

The department supports research and is responsible for teaching physics. It houses 17 chairs with a total of 37 professors, about 260 employees and 800 students (as of summer 2016) are working and studying at the department. The physics department is part of the faculty of sciences at FAU.

The chairs and research groups can be assigned to the following areas:

The department of physics has strong ties with the neighbouring Max-Planck-Institut for the Science of Light (established 2009).