Two scientists elected to DFG review boards

Two professors from the Department of Physics have been elected to review boards of the German Research Foundation (DFG).

The review boards are elected every four years by almost 150,000 scientists who are eligible to vote. Within the DFG, the review boards are responsible for evaluating proposals submitted to the DFG. All proposals submitted to them are compared in order to identify the projects most worthy of funding within the given financial framework.

This is intended to ensure that proposals are assessed according to uniform standards across all DFG programs. In addition, the review boards are also involved in the further development and design of the DFG’s funding programs and in the discussion of funding policy issues.

The following persons were elected to the review boards:

(provisional election results from 24.11.2023)

Review Board 3.21 Condensed Matter Physics: Prof. Dr. Janina Maultzsch

Review Board 3.25 Astrophysics and Astronomy: Prof. Dr. Manami Sasaki

Further information:

DFG Review Boards